Especially especially

This morning, as I was tuned in to the local radio station, there was a talk show. The topic was about men’s expectations towards women.  I was at the traffic lights when I heard the following statement:

  • I like all kinds of people especially men.

At a glance, the statement appears to be correct. Look closer, and you’ll ask yourself, besides men and women, what other kinds of people are there?  Perhaps the caller was referring to people with different characteristics like kindness, gentleness, honesty, courage etc. Whatever it is, the word “especially” was wrongly used in that statement.

Perhaps the caller was trying to say one of the following:

  • I like everyone.
  • I like loving, gentle and courageous men.
  • I like men who have a good social status.

I’m not exactly sure, but what do you think the caller meant?

If you’d like to learn more about “especially” and its related cousins, click here.

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Jottings. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t know what the caller meant, but if you ask me, I don’t like EVERYONE. I like loving, gentle and not necessarily courageous men. I don’t need my man to have a good social status. I just need my man to have a good heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

