The "time" Factor

Here are two phrases which I find are “useless”, and which you might often hear over the radio, on national TV or when you speak to someone:

  • at this present moment
  • at this moment in time

The second phrase, especially, is ridiculous. Why “…in time“? Doesn’t it make you feel like you’re in a time machine or something? Those two phrases actually mean, “now“.  It makes me wonder, why is it so difficult to just say something like:

  • I’m really busy now. OR
  • Currently, I’m very busy. OR
  • I’m busy at the moment.

…instead of. “I’m really busy at this present moment“? I don’t have the answer, but I get really annoyed when I hear those phrases. Our local corporate leaders and politicians seem to make this “blunder” quite often, especially if they’re not proficient in the English language.

Posted on October 15, 2009, in Jottings. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sir, I think they use those two phrases to make them appear more proficient in English. You know, the longer the words, the more sophiscated the sound and they think that they’ll be able to fool people that they are good in English.

    • Hi there. You know, you could be right. However, others may argue that it’s another way of saying the same thing in different ways. Nevertheless, I still find those phrases rather annoying.

      Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

