British vs. Malaysian English

It’s been a long time since I posted something in this blog. I’ve actually run out of ideas already đŸ™‚ Anyway, someone sent me something humourous recently.

We’ve heard of British vs. American English, but this post is about British vs. Malaysian English (Manglish). Have fun comparing:

British English vs. Malaysian English

(a) WHEN GIVING A CUSTOMER BAD NEWS

Britons:
I’m sorry, sir, but we don’t seem to have the sweater you want in your size, but if you give me a moment, I can call the other outlets for you.

Malaysians:
No stock.

(b) RETURNING A CALL

Britons:
Hello, this is John Smith. Did anyone call for me a few moments ago?

Malaysians:
Hello, who call ah, just now?

(c) ASKING SOMEONE TO MAKE WAY

Britons:
Excuse me, I would like to get by. Would you please make way?

Malaysians:
S-kews, s-kews!

(d) WHEN ASKING FOR PERMISSION

Britons:
Excuse me, but do you think it would be possible for me to enter through this door?

Malaysians:
[pointing at the door] Can enter, ah?

(e) WHEN ENTERTAINING

Britons:
Please make yourself right at home.

Malaysians:
No need shy shy one, lah!

(f) WHEN DOUBTING SOMEONE

Britons:
I don’t recall you giving me the money.

Malaysians:
Where got?

(g) WHEN DECLINING AN OFFER

Britons:
I would prefer not to do that, if you don’t mind.

Malaysians:
Don’t want lah.

(h) WHEN ASKING SOMEONE TO LOWER THEIR VOICE

Britons:
Excuse me, but could you please lower your voice? I’m trying to concentrate over here.

Malaysians:
Shut up, lah!

(i) WHEN ASSESSING A TIGHT SITUATION

Britons:
We seem to be in a bit of a predicament at the moment..

Malaysians:
Die lah!!

(j) WHEN SOMEONE DID SOMETHING WRONG

Britons:
This isn’t the way to do it. Here, let me show you.

Malaysians:
Like that also don’t know how to do!

The conclusion is, Manglish is simple, short, concise but not easy for foreigners to understand đŸ˜€

Posted on April 21, 2010, in Jottings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Why like that one! Msians speak fast fast & no long long talk, some more speak impeccable Manglish superbly hahaha lol. tQ

Leave a Reply

